Courses & Events

July 2017
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Mon 26 June Tue 27 June

Theology House Board Meeting

Theology House Board Meeting
Wed 28 June

NT Greek Group

NT Greek Group
Thu 29 June Fri 30 June Sat 1 July Sun 2 July
Mon 3 July Tue 4 July Wed 5 July Thu 6 July Fri 7 July

Post Ordination Training

Post Ordination Training
Sat 8 July Sun 9 July
Mon 10 July Tue 11 July Wed 12 July

NT Greek Group

NT Greek Group
Thu 13 July Fri 14 July Sat 15 July Sun 16 July
Mon 17 July Tue 18 July Wed 19 July Thu 20 July Fri 21 July Sat 22 July Sun 23 July

Theologians in the Cathedral

Theologians in the Cathedral
Mon 24 July Tue 25 July Wed 26 July

NT Greek Group

NT Greek Group
Thu 27 July Fri 28 July

MMF508: Building Intergenerational Community

MMF508: Building Intergenerational Community
Sat 29 July

MMF508: Building Intergenerational Community

MMF508: Building Intergenerational Community
Sun 30 July
Mon 31 July Tue 1 August Wed 2 August Thu 3 August Fri 4 August

BST512: Introduction to the Gospel of Luke

BST512: Introduction to the Gospel of Luke
Sat 5 August

BST512: Introduction to the Gospel of Luke

BST512: Introduction to the Gospel of Luke
Sun 6 August

Our aim in training and teaching is the development of ministry knowledge and skills for those training for ordination, lay ministers, clergy and parishioners, Anglican and other churches, in keeping with the objects of our trust deed.

Unless otherwise stated, courses run by Theology House are at Level 1, 10 Logistics Drive, Harewood, Christchurch.

(1) Now available for 2017 is our new six week Lenten study book, Risk: Through Lent with Acts.  Details here. This book can be ordered now from admin@theologyhouse.ac.nz or 03 341 3399 and will be posted from mid-January 2017.

(2) In 2017 Theology House is offering Diploma of Christian Studies Papers (Formerly Anglican Studies) in Christchurch, at Theology House in 2017.   Details are here.

(3) In 2014 we wrote and delivered a great course entitled Living in the Way of Jesus: Being a Disciple, Understanding Discipleship. This is a six part interactive and participatory course which can be delivered either over six weeks, one evening per week, or over a Friday night and Saturday. More details here. We are happy to deliver this again in 2017 for any parish that is interested. Please email: admin@theologyhouse.ac.nz or phone: 03 341 3399.

(4) Introduction to Worship Leading: this 2017 course is suitable for any leader of any kind of worship service in Anglican (and other contexts). It teaches both principles of worship service leading and practice of worship service leading in Anglican contexts (with, without a prayer book).

We can come to your parish – contact us now.

(5) Introduction to Preaching:  This popular 6-7 week course will be offered again at Theology House in 2017.

Term 2     7.30 pm to 9.15 pm, Tuesdays , 9, 23, 30 May and 6, 13, 20 June inclusive.

Tutors: Stephanie Robson, Nick Mountfort, Peter Carrell
As part of the course that each student will be expected to prepare and deliver a brief sermon (10 mins max). There is no class on the week of 16 May in order to assist in preparation for the sermon. Sermons will be delivered on 13th and 20th June.
Registrations close at 5 pm 1st May; the course is limited to eight people so early registration is advised.
Cost: $60

(6) Introduction to Te ReoFor any interested persons including lay and ordained worship leaders, this popular course will be offered again in Term 3 2017. As at December 2016 we are looking at the following provisional dates for the course nights, Tuesdays:

Term 3 7.00 pm to 9.15 pm Tuesdays 8, 15, 22, 29 August and 5, 12 September.

Tutors: Marjorie Smart and Rawinia Douglas with Peter Carrell as Co-ordinator of the course
Cost: $60

South Canterbury and Mid Canterbury

We are planning further courses in South Canterbury and Mid Canterbury in 2017 in consultation with local leaders. Contact: Peter Carrell, director@theologyhouse.ac.nz or 0274 772 975.

Other Opportunities

(1) We offer a variety of courses which you might like to book in for your ministry unit or archdeaconry: examples include courses on Overview of the Old Testament, Introduction to Worship Leading, Introduction to Leading Intercessions. These can be delivered in two hour sessions at a time to suit, day or evening.

(2) We are prepared to work with you on developing a course of instruction or training to suit your ministry or missional needs. (Exceptions here are in the areas of youth, children, social justice and elderly ministry for which we recommend communication with relevant members of the Diocese of Christchurch’s Diocesan Ministry Team).

(3) For something different, how about exploring ‘not for credit’ free theological courses through Harvard University. An example of a current course, on Paul and Christianity is here. Use that link to explore more about these ‘EDX’ options from around the world.